RSS Feed

New & Improved Scones?

Posted on

Well, I have tweaked my scone recipe with a few ideas pulled from Mr. Oliver’s Great Britain scones. I used my basic scone recipe (choosing the butter option rather than cream) and added a heaped teaspoon of baking powder. I also inverted the scones onto the tray as suggested by Jamie. Overall, I am very pleased with them. Nice and light, but still moist and tasty enough that a smear of butter is all you need, although a dollop of plum jam never goes astray in my opinion. One last point about Jamie’s scones – I didn’t add the fruit! I like my scones fruit-free, mainly due to scary childhood memories of my English Grandmother’s fruit scones – definitely weapons of mass-destruction… of taste buds! Pictures of today’s scones at various stages attached to this post.

ImageImageImage

About skeever73

I like to bake and cook, stamp, craft, read, listen to music and muck around with IT and gadgets. I love to drink tea!

Leave a Reply

