RSS Feed

Oats, Smoothies and Thickies

Posted on

I love oats. For me they equal Anzac biscuits and porridge, and this equals happiness. I was chuffed to discover that Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall also loves oats in his River Cottage Everyday “Breakfast”. He talks about oats as the breakfast of champions and how flexible they are and I absolutely agree with him. This meant I had to try out his Oat Thickie for breakfast, and ladies and gentlemen, we are on a winner! I think this breakfast would be great for kids/toddlers who need to go to day care early, but you want them to have something in their tummies before they are really ready to start eating for the day. It could be fritzed up and then taken with you to work until you are ready for breakfast. If you want the original recipe, then please visit the River Cottage website – it is a great website to explore anytime, just remember that it is English and very seasonal.

So, my version of an Oat Thickie is to combine the following ingredients in a blender:

1 heaped tablespoon whole rolled oats

3 tablespoons Greek-style yoghurt

3 tablespoons milk

1/2 cup fruit

This is for one serve. Fruit can be a banana (add a little honey if you like), raspberries (try adding a teaspoon of Dutch cocoa powder – yeah baby!), blueberries, strawberries or a nectarine. We have tried all except the banana, this is the one fruit I hate with a serious passion. Speaking of passion, peach and passion fruit is the next Thickie on trial! May I also mention to diabetics that oats are low GI and this is a good breakfast for Type 2 diabetics. I have used full fat yoghurt and milk, but you could certainly use low fat and have your health halo shining.

About skeever73

I like to bake and cook, stamp, craft, read, listen to music and muck around with IT and gadgets. I love to drink tea!

Leave a Reply

